reintroducing // Lawrence Taylor

Aloha! I really am making an effort to post on here more, and I feel it’s actually working now. The last two posts have been pretty recent. I feel like my efforts to learn more, get more experience, and get further along in my career have slowed down recently so I’m going to focus on this with the motivation to use it to further everything else. Fingers crossed.

I’m actually at a ‘social’ event tomorrow night with the Music Managers Forum (MMF). It’s a great chance to network, surround myself with the right people, and actually feel like I’m doing something constructive with my evening. I’ve even got my own business cards printed up! I’ve wanted to get some made for a while, although didn’t have the right platform to promote myself with it. Now that I’ve started Full Charge Management, I’m now able to have professional business cards! Although… they did cost £35 for 50…! I’m seriously annoyed, I didn’t look at the postage fee when ordering them. I needed them before this event so got them on a next day delivery service, which was £19… the cards themselves with VAT were less than £15?! I’m pretty annoyed, although they do look great.

So, next week it’s my birthday. I’m going to be 26. I’m not that bothered about it being a big deal just for a day, I’ve never really had any special birthdays. Not trying to give a sob story, I’m just not that bothered about birthdays. I’m happy where I am, I’m constantly striving to progress, I’m in a good place right now. I even had my three month review yesterday at work, which is the end of my probation period after being hired. Nailed it! Anyway, so next weekend I’m having a night out for my birthday with some mates, nothing fancy, just drinks with a reason to see lots of people. I’ve invited my best friend, Jack. Now, Jack really is a unique guy. I’ve posted about our shenanigans (see: i can’t actually remember, go read all my posts to find them, if you can be arsed). Seriously, every time we go out, really weird stuff happens. We’ve encountered a girl with one leg who wouldn’t leave us alone, a heart-broken girl who spent loads of her exes money on buying us expensive champagne, and stupid fights that end up with us walking home in the rain with our guitars. They’re just a few of the stupid situations we get ourselves into. Jack, you really have to meet this guy to understand what I mean by he’s ‘unique’. He once started making an Iron Man helmet. He also told me he’s going to have a vasectomy and move into a container converted into a flat, because this girl dumped him. Now, Jack’s actually going ahead with inventing his own game. It’s called ‘taser-tag’, and it’s basically laser-tag but with taser guns. He’s making the guns right now, and is looking for people to test them but having no luck with willing volunteers. He’s coming out for my birthday night, with my younger brother who never really goes out drinking, so it really should be an eventful night.

So, now to the music. I do ramble a lot, don’t I? Apologies. Actually, nah, I won’t apologise, this blog is a way for me to chat my bollocks and share some great music. This post is about this incredible artist called Lawrence Taylor. I posted about him a while back when I saw him supporting one of my favourite unsigned bands out there right now called KYKO (See http://wp.me/p4I2vs-4T). He’s now released a new track, which is going down a storm online. He sounds like a mixture between James Bay and Sam Smith. Regardless of whether you like those guys or not, Lawrence Taylor has got this incredible sound. His voice is remarkable, his music just has that touch to it that makes it far better than his peers. He’s just got it.

Seriously, you need to listen to this guy.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/LawrenceTaylorMusic

Twitter: @LawrenceTaylor

‘Chains’


Leave a comment